A replica of Prescott’s first one-room school
The Museum’s current small, one-room structure is a 1961 replica of the first public schoolhouse in the area built in 1867. The original school, which stood on Granite Creek near today’s Prescott Mile High Middle School, was destroyed by fire in 1948. Children of many grades attended class together. Now, local students can relive the education experience of Territorial Prescott during their school tours of the Museum.
The current building, constructed with funds by the Prescott Rotary Club, was built in 1962. Students on school tours are invited to try a slate pencil on a slate, peruse a McGuffy reader, or ring the school bell. Outside of tours, an audio program provides interesting stories about the original school house and benches allow guests to experience a student’s point of view. An exhibit panel tells the story of the building.