The Sharlot Hall Building, constructed in 1936 as a project of the Civil Works Administration and once home to Sharlot Hall, houses many of the Museum’s historical exhibits.
It was constructed of native rock and pine logs and remains one of the Museum’s primary exhibit halls since its completion in 1936. Sharlot herself called the building “the house of a thousand hands” because she believed at least 500 men participated in its construction.
The building’s exhibits narrate the story of Prescott, from the founding of a wilderness territorial capital in 1863 to statehood in 1912. Dioramas reveal a rich history of mining, the military, Indian conflicts, railroads, and ranching, town life, and more.
The Sharlot Hall Building also houses a special exhibit about the area’s native Yavapai-Prescott Indian Tribe. “The Baskets Keep Talking” explores the Tribe’s story and culture through their own eyes, along with more than 40 Yavapai and other American Indian baskets on display.